关于

我第一次接触英特网还是在21世纪刚开始的时候。我记得我用一个Web邮件的客户端发送我的第一封E-mail时,就在我发送之 前,我忘记按网页上的“保存”按钮。结果,网页上出现了一堆莫名其妙的错误消息,我所有的电子邮件的内容全丢失了!当然,那还是发生在拨号上网时候的事。 但是,至少你可以连线上网,上网冲浪和做最有乐趣的事:下载软件——对于我们之中的一些人来说,这仍然是一件最有乐趣的事。

接下来,进入了宽带接入的时代。所有的事请都是那么的快了以至于你会觉得置身地狱如果你再重新返回去使用拨号上网。当然,网络的力量不仅仅来源于人 们接入互联网的带宽,它还来源于Firefox(网页浏览器),Gmail(电子邮件),CMS(Web应用服务),WordPress(博客),电子商 务,Google(搜索引擎),BitTorrent(P2P)……或着任何你可以想得到的那些使今天的互联网为其所是的东西。你可以用它学习,用它娱 乐,甚至靠它来生活。简单地说,一旦人们体验到它并且掌握一些简单地技能,人们就不能没有它而生活了。

然而,随着信息时代渐渐地展现自身,随之而来的是“信息超载”。简单地说,网上的信息实在是太多了,它们是如此的不同,以至于有些时候,你不能从你 所得到的信息之中获得一个完整而有意义的画面,你会觉得它们是如此的不能理解。当然,信息的不同来源于人们的不同。我们现在生活在一个非常有意思的时代, 在这个时代里,我们有那些老一辈的人,他们从之前的“冷战”体系之中而来;我们有年轻人,他们正在尝试每一件事情只求能够赶上这个新的永远在变的世界;我 们有孩子们,而他们将会生活在一个我们今天正在创造的世界里。这个真正的现实世界同时也是不平等地发展的:当我在听(美国音乐人)John Mayer的“if you trust the television, what you get is what you got; cause they own the information, oh~, they can bend it all they want”(歌词大意: 如果你信任电视,你所得到的就是你已经得到的;因为他们拥有那些信息,哦`,他们可以随他们的意愿进行扭曲)时,成百万的,如果不是十几亿的,我的中国同 胞每个白天和每个黑夜仍然就只想着观看电视。所以,不仅仅是对于我们,这些接受过必要的教育并且有能力去学习新的东西的年轻的人,而且是对于每一个人(我 相信,至少是在一定程度上)来说,这个世界上的许多信息都是不能理解的。我不知道你,但是如果是我生活在一个世界里,有那么多不知道的东西,将是一个最差 的生活经历因为它会感觉是如此的不确定,不安全!

现在,我们面对的一个经常令人感觉非常棘手的问题,就是,“我要怎么样才能把事情组织到一块呢?”我怀疑你能否真的能够完成这个任务如果你没有对你 所处理的事情有一个连贯一致的理解。你怎样组识信息?以使你自己感觉到非常舒适,确定以及有希望?我想,这也许就是为什么Google是如此的“伟大”, 当他们说他们想“组识世界的信息”,即使我很想知道到底他们能在个人得层面做些什么因为怎么样理清我自己大脑所知道的事完全取决于我自己。

这不是一个容易的任务。它让我想起了弗里德里希.冯.哈耶克,一位诺贝尔经济学奖获得者,写的一篇关于《专业化的两难困境》的文章。在人类社会,特 别是我们的教育体体系之中,专业化和专门化正是我们正在做的事情。我们有各种各样的问题需要各种各样的人来解决;我们需要各种各样的工程师、专家来贡献它 们的专业领域里的专业知识和洞见。专业化对于一个建立良好的社会是生死攸关的。然而,一个组识良好,健康,善(或不管你称它为什么样)的社会,同样需要它 的成员不仅仅只知道一个或两个专业领域里的东西。当然,我能够理解哈耶克的意思(因为对于经济学家来说这一点尤其的真实)——如果经济学家都只知道他们的 经济学,而对人类的历史,人文,法律和道德或伦理一无所知,那么他们将会是都置身地狱!想一想历史上,有多少次如下这个称述是对的?科学家们不知道他们在 做些什么。嗯,核武器的例子肯定是这样。想像一下你每天在网上遇见的有些什么:技术,经济,政治;买,卖,广告;音乐,书;以及,这个最好的一个方面,那 些你大概在的一生中都不会和他们在网下的世界中相遇的人们!我想,你会在很大程度上同意我的这样一个观点,就是,如今,即使是获得娱乐,你也必须需要很多 而且广泛的知识!觉得不是这样?试试想一想去问一下你的朋友之中的任何一个人关于如何把你的DVD上的影片转换成DIVX文件,这样你就可以在你的个人电 脑或手机上观看了?

我们意识到,为了使我们的“玩弄碎片”的生活付有意义,我们至少需要一个对于我们生活其中的世界的基本的图视。这个基本的图视,我称之为一套“基本 的常识”。通过这些基本的常识,我们能够解释那些大词和令人混乱的话语。我们只能理解事物,通过我们平常的,每天都使用的那些语言。而且,更重要的是,我 们还需要通过这些语言来解释那些“理论”,这样,我们才会更进一步的理解“那些复杂的系统”。这就是这个博客想尽力去做的事情。通过这种方法,我希望能够 使一些概念容易地被理解,一些关系逻辑地联系起来,以及,使一些观念,技术和工具显得更有用和有意义。

About

It was back to the beginning of the 21th century when I first got touched onto the internet. I remember that when I sent my first E-mail using a webmail client, I forgot press “save” just before I sent it. Then the web page carried out a jagged error message, and all of my email’s content were lost! That was in the dial-up connection days of course. But at least you could get online, surf on the web and the most fun: download software(for some of us today, it still is)!

Then, came with the broadband. Everything is so faster ever since as you would feel you were in a bloody hell if you went back to using a dial-up. Of course, the power of the web does not just come from the bandwidth people have to plug into the internet, it also comes from Firefox(Web Browser), Gmail(E-mail), CMS(Web Application), wordpress(Weblog), e-Commecial, Google(Search Engine), BitTorrent(P2P)…or anything else you can think of that make the world wide web what it is today. You can learn with it, entertain with it and even make living with it. In short, once people gain access to it and grasp some simple skills, they can’t live without it.

However, as the Information Age unfolding itself, comes with the “Information Overload”. There are simply too many things on the web, they are so diverse so that you sometimes can’t make any sense of them when you can not figure out a whole picture of the information you’ve got. Of course, diversity of information comes from diversity of people. We live in a very interesting era, in which, we have old people who came from the previous Cold-War system; and we have young people who are trying everything just want to catch up the new ever-changing world; and we have children who will live in a world that we are building today. The real world are also unequally developed: while I am listening John Mayer’s “if you trust the television, what you get is what you got; cause they own the information, oh~, they can bend it all they want”; millions, if not billions, of my Chinese folks still just want to watch television every day and every night. So, it is not just to us, the young people who have accepted necessary education and have the ability to learn from the world, but also to everyone(I believe at least to some extent), that many world’s information don’t make any sense. I don’t know you, but to me, live in the world with so many unknown, it is the worst living experience because it will feel so uncertainty, so unsafe!

“Put it together”, may has become the proverb that you are saying to yourself in these days. But how you can put the pieces together without a coherent understanding of them? How do you organize the information, that is, in a way that yourself feel comfortable, certain and hopeful? I think this is why Google is so “great” when they say they want to “Organize World’s Information”, even though I wonder what they can do on the personal level because sorting out what my brain knows is entirely up to myself.

It is not an easy task. It reminded me of an article written by Friedrch Von Hayek, a Nobel Prize Winners on Economics, called The Specialization’s Dilemma. In human society, especially in our educational system, specialization is what we are doing. We have all kinds of problems need all kinds of people to solve them, we need all kinds of engineers, experts to contribute their expertise on their specialized area. Specialization is critical for a well established society. However, a well-ordered, healthy, good(or whatever you call it) society also needs its members who are not just know one or two specialized fields. Of course, I can understand what Hayek meant( because to economist this is especially true ) — if economists were all just know their economics, and didn’t know anything about history, humanity, law and morals or ethics, then they would all were in hell! Think about the history, how many times this statement is true? Scientists don’t know what they are doing. Well, nuclear weapons are the cases, for sure. Image what you actually encounter everyday on the web: technology, economy, politic; buying, selling, advertising; music, movies, books; and, here is the best part, the people whom you probably will never meet with in your life time off-line! I think you’ll pretty much agree with me that, nowadays, even get entertainment, you must have your knowledge various and many! Don’t think so? Well, how about to ask anyone among your friends how to convert your DVD movies to DIVX files, so that you can watch them on your PC or mobile phones?

We realize that in order to have our playing-the-pieces life make sense, we need have at least a basic schema about the world we are in. The basic schema, I call it is a set of “common senses”. Through these common senses, we can explain those big, buzz words. We can only understand things through our plain, day-to-day used languages. And more important, we also need to explain those theories based on these languages, so that we can further understand those complex systems. This is what this weblog is trying to do. Through this approach, I wish I can make some concepts easily understood, some relationships logically connected, and make ideas, technologies, tools more useful and meaningful.